My Asia journey begins today!! I will be spending 10 days in Japan, then going to China for study abroad.

I had a direct flight from LAX to NRT (Narita Airport, Tokyo). I flew Singapore Airlines and the flight was 11 hours and 45 minutes long, which sounds long, but compared to my 30+ hour ordeal getting to Australia, it wasn’t bad at all!

IMG_4153IMG_4154

At the airport, I bought a bottle of “Dream Water”, which contains melatonin and is supposed to help you get to sleep. (Melatonin is the “darkness hormone” – it’s released when it is dark and helps your body to get ready for bed. Thanks Psych of Sleep class!)

I was so excited to try this out on the plane, but unfortunately, (and I feel stupid for saying this), I couldn’t open the bottle 😦 I tried many times and it made my hands hurty. I guess I’ll have to try it some other time. So basically I have no idea if Dream Water works or not, and I just wasted blog space mentioning it.

Anyways, I didn’t sleep at all on the plane, which isn’t really a problem because I arrived in Japan around 7:00pm, and I would be sleeping in a few hours anyways.

IMG_4157
Yes, meal time!!

The first meal I had on the plane was Japanese-style, with Japanese curry rice and chicken and cold noodles. The curry was pretty good; I don’t particularly like soba noodles, but that’s just me. They forgot to give me bread 😦 It’s not a big deal, because it’s not like I don’t know what bread tastes like, and the meal was pretty filling. But I’m just saying, if I were given bread, I would have eaten it. 😦 oh well.

IMG_4161.JPG
The chocolate mousse with pear was really good though!

The next meal was pork stroganoff. It wasn’t that great. I mean it’s airplane food, so I’m not sure what I was expecting. The bread was really good though! Damn it.

IMG_4162.JPG
Do I dare wash my butt?

Once I got off the plane, I used the restroom at the airport before going through customs and what do you know?? They had those fancy butt washing toilets!!! EYYYY! I did not wash my butt though, because I was scared. I thought maybe a huge stream of water would come out and attack my butt. I was tired from the flight and didn’t have enough mental stamina to try it. Maybe next time.

My aunty, Natsuko-san, was supposed to pick me up, but there was some miscommunication, so I ended up waiting outside for over an hour. It turns out she was at the wrong terminal. All’s well that end’s well – we eventually found each other, and she drove me to a mall for dinner. There were so many different restaurants at the food court, all considered fast food – crepes, ramen, omelettes, etc. We both had a meal from the karaage (chicken) restaurant. My karaage had a raw egg on it, and I think maybe some broth, because the rice below the chicken was soaked in a delicious savory liquid. I would have taken a picture, but there were signs around the food court saying “Taking pictures or film is prohibited”. It was 8pm and it’s not like there was anyone there actively enforcing that rule, but I like to follow rules, so I didn’t. So there. We also had fried chicken butt balls. Man, I wish I had a picture because that sounded so weird 😦 But it was delicious!

Then we drove home. Natsuko-san’s house is traditional style, with tatami mats and sliding screen doors separating each room. The house is over 100 years old, and it is February, so it was freezing cold.

IMG_4163
Time for bed!

However, she set up my room with a heated mat and really thick blankets, so once I snuggled inside I felt all warm and cozy 🙂 Time to get some rest!

IMG_4167.JPG
Also, aunty has a chicken! /random
Leave a Reply

