I was in Japan for only about 10 days, but one thing that my aunty really wanted for me to do while I was in Japan was to get photos taken wearing a kimono.

The kimono is a traditional Japanese garment. They come in an assortment of colors and patterns. The one I am wearing has been passed down through Aunty’s family for at least 3 generations.

This kind of kimono, with the long sleeves, can only be worn by unmarried women. So, my parents thought that this might be my once-in-a-lifetime chance to wear one, which I guess insinuates that they expect me to be married the next time I visit Japan. ._.

IMG_1397
Getting my hair and makeup did!!!
IMG_1427
Am I a pretty girl?

For the occasion, I got my hair and makeup professionally done. My favorite part of my “look” are the flowers in my hair. Aunty made me the hair flowers by buying fake flowers from Daiso and painting them orange to match the floral pattern of my kimono. Smart!

IMG_1429
The final look, minus the traditional sandals

IMG_1445

IMG_1461
The hairdresser, makeup artist, and stylist all wanted pictures with me afterwards 🙂

The ladies at the salon helped me to put on my kimono, which actually took a really, really long time. First, there are a bunch of undergarment layers that are wrapped around your body to cushion certain areas. I also put on a fake lime green collar, which you can see in the picture, to give the illusion of many layers. But I guess it’s not really an illusion, because I certainly was wearing at least 3 layers of robes. The obi, or belt, took some time to put on as well. Inside the sash is a cardboard-like material that keeps it flat against my body. There are apparently several ways to tie the obi from the back; the ladies showed me some pictures and I pointed to one that I thought was particularly attractive. The obi was kind of tight! With all those layers, I had trouble breathing. Despite that, I felt very pretty!

IMG_1492IMG_1498.JPG

Next, we went to a photo studio to get photos professionally done. These are not the professional photos. These were taken on my Dad’s iPhone ;D

The only negative was that the sandals I was wearing were WAY too small for me, so my feet hurt really badly. Next, we went to a local park to take pictures on our own. Again, my feet hurt, so I was literally wobbling from place to place. Of course I hid the pain in my face because I am a professional model. lols.

IMG_1523IMG_1527IMG_1602IMG_1506

We went home and Aunty helped me take the kimono off, because this is not a one-man-job! You can see all the layers I am wearing underneath, including the fake green collar haha.

IMG_4185IMG_4187

That concludes my kimono photoshoot experience… and my overall Japan experience as well! I might have another post about my observations in Japan in general, but my next post after that will be about China! By the way, as I write this, I have been in China for 2 months already. So these blog posts are way overdo. Sorry!! Blame it on China’s slow internet.

 

 

One thought on “My Kimono Photoshoot

Leave a Reply

